Tuesday, September 27, 2022

Bihar Political Crisis: Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar Chief Minister, Know Reason and Details!!

- Advertisement -

Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar Chief Minister: Bihar chief minister and Janata Dal-United (JD-U)’s de-facto leader Nitish Kumar submitted his resignation to governor Phagu Chauhan on Tuesday (9 August 2022). Click here to Join whatsapp/ telegram study group 

Important PDFs

Current affairs PDFGovernment Schemes PDFBanking GA PDF
Indian Polity PDFIndian History PDFStatic GK

Nitish Kumar resigns: New Government to be formed

Nitish Kumar also submitted a support letter of 160 MLAs to stake claim to form a new government. He said – “All MPs and MLAs are at a consensus that we should leave the NDA,”. He said that the decision to leave the NDA was taking by the JD(U).

He visited the residence of RJD patriarch Lalu Yadav’s wife Rabri Devi in Patna to hold talks with Tejashwi Yadav, who is likely to get the deputy chief minister’s post in the new coalition government.

Why Nitish Kumar Resigned?

- Advertisement -

Nitish Kumar felt that Union Home Minister Amit Shah was foraging within the JDU for defectors. RCP Singh, a senior leader from his party, had joined the union cabinet. Nitish felt that RCP Singh was being used to turn the JDU against him. He therefore refused to extend RCP Singh’s term in the Rajya Sabha. Thus, RCP Singh had to resign from PM Modi’s cabinet. On the weekend, Nitish Kumar’s aides publicly accused RCP Singh of corruption and in protest he quit the JDU.

Nitish Kumar felt that BJP was using another leader Chirag Paswan to serve as a vote-cutter for him in the last general election. Chirag Paswan put up his party’s candidates against the JDU. BJP gained out of this. As Nitish Kumar criticized Chirag Paswan, the BJP refused to criticize him.

Nitish Kumar felt that Amit Shah was attempting a repeat of the Maharashtra model in Bihar and ended the BJP alliance to pre-empt that. Uddhav Thackeray was forced to quit as Chief Minister after Eknath Shinde, a senior leader from his party, the Shiv Sena, instigated a huge revolt in partnership with the BJP. Eknath Shinde was rewarded by the BJP with the post of Maharashtra Chief Minister. Thus, Nitish Kumar thought to end ties with BJP with this fear.


- Advertisement -

Janata Dal (United) is an Indian political party with political presence mainly in eastern and north-eastern India. JD(U) is recognised as a state party in the states of Bihar and Arunachal Pradesh and is a part of government in Bihar. It was founded on 30 October 2003 by Sharad Yadav, George Fernandes and Nitish Kumar.


The Rashtriya Janata Dal is an Indian socialist political party, based in the states of Bihar, Jharkhand and Kerala. The party was founded on 5 July 1997 by Lalu Prasad Yadav, Raghuvansh Prasad Singh and Kanti Singh.


National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is a political alliance led by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). It was founded in 1998 and currently controls the government of India as well as the government of 18 Indian states, and 1 Union Territories. It was founded by Lal Krishna Advani, Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Pramod Mahajan.


- Advertisement -

The Bharatiya Janata Party is a political party in India, and one of the two major Indian political parties alongside the Indian National Congress. It was founded on 6 April 1980 by Atal Bihari Vajpayee and L. K. Advani.

Related Current Affairs



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    - Advertisment -

    Latest News