Bengaluru FC lifts maiden Durand Cup by defeating Mumbai City FC

Bengaluru FC has won its maiden and the 131st edition of the Durand Cup by defeating Indian Super League (ISL) giants Mumbai City FC 2-1. This is seventh domestic title for Bengaluru FC.

Durand Cup

The Durand Football Tournament, commonly known as Durand Cup, is an annual domestic football competition in India which was first held in 1888 in Shimla.

Hosted by the Durand Football Tournament Society (DFTS) and All India Football Federation (AIFF), the tournament is the oldest existing club football tournament in Asia and third oldest in the world.

The most successful teams are currently East Bengal Club and Mohun Bagan AC, accounting for 32 cup victories over the years, with 16 wins each.

  • Organising body: Durand Football Tournament Society and AIFF
  • Founded: 1888
  • Region: India
  • Number of teams: 20
  • Current champions: Bengaluru FC
  • Most successful team(s): Mohun Bagan and East Bengal