Centre clears appointment of five Supreme Court judges

  • The President of India, Droupadi Murmu approved the appointment of five new Supreme Court judges.
  • The strength of judges in the Supreme Court will be increased to 32 (sanctioned strength is 34).
  • They will take oath on 6th February by CJI DY Chandrachud.
  • Five appointed judges are:
    • (1) Pankaj Mithal (CJ of Rajasthan)
    • (2) Sanjay Karol, (CJ of Patna)
    • (3) PV Sanjay Kumar, (CJ of Manipur)
    • (4) Ahsanuddin Amanullah (judge, Patna HC)
    • (5) Manoj Misra (judge, Allahabad HC)