Croatia adopts euro, entered borderless Europe club

  • Croatia has adopted the euro as its currency with effect from 1 January 2023 and become the 20th member of the eurozone.
  • Croatia has entered the EU in 2013.
  • It becomes the 27th country to join the Schengen area.
  • Schengen Area: It is an area that comprises 27 European countries that have abolished all passports and border control at their respective mutual borders
  • Eurozone: It is officially called the euro area.
  • The monetary authority of the Eurozone is the Eurosystem.