Delhi LG Anil Baijal has resigned: Check list of lieutenant governors till now


Delhi Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal, has submitted his resignation to President Ram Nath Kovind citing “personal reasons”. Mr Baijal had taken over as Lieutenant Governor in December 2016 following the abrupt resignation of his predecessor Najeeb Jung. He has completed his five-year tenure and an appointment of his successor has been due.

He is a 1969 batch IAS officer and had served as Union Home Secretary under former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and held key positions in other ministries. Under the Congress-led UPA government, he oversaw the ₹ 60,000 crore Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission.

As Lieutenant Governor, Mr Baijal was chief of the Delhi Disaster Management Authority that spearheaded the capital’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tussle between AAP and BJP government

The role of Lieutenant Governor had been a point of issue between Delhi’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government and the BJP, which rules at the centre, for years until a landmark Supreme Court judgement in 2018 that spelled out their powers more clearly.

The Lieutenant Governor does not have independent decision-making powers and the real power must lie with the elected government, the Supreme Court had ruled in a big win for Mr Kejriwal in the years-long fight for control of Delhi.

List of lieutenant governors of Delhi

The Lieutenant Governor of Delhi is the constitutional head of the National Capital Territory of Delhi. The post was first established in September 1966, when The Delhi Administration Act, 1966 came into effect. Thus the former Delhi Legislative Assembly was replaced by the Delhi Metropolitan Council with 56 elected and 5 nominated members with the Lieutenant Governor of Delhi as its head. The Council however had no legislative powers, only an advisory role in the governance of Delhi. This setup functioned until 1990, when the Assembly was reinstated; the position of Lieutenant Governor retained its role.

The National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill, 2021 was introduced in Parliament of India and was passed by both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. The bill states that the Government referred to in any law to be made by the Legislative Assembly shall mean the Lieutenant Governor.

Delhi was earlier head by a Chief Commissioner who was an ICS officer. In 1966 the Delhi Administration Act was passed which set up a Delhi Metropolitan Council with the Lieutenant Governor of Delhi as its head.

List of lieutenant governors of Delhi

List of Lieutenant Governors of Delhi

# Name Took office Left office
1 Aditya Nath Jha, ICS 7 November 1966 19 January 1972
2 M.C. Pimputkar, ICS 19 January 1972 23 April 1972
3 Baleshwar Prasad, IAS 24 April 1972 3 October 1974
4 Krishan Chand, ICS 3 October 1974 30 March 1978
5 Dalip Rai Kohli, ICS 30 March 1978 17 February 1980
6 Jagmohan Malhotra, IAS 17 February 1980 30 March 1981
7 Sundar Lal Khurana, IAS 30 March 1981 2 September 1982
8 Jagmohan Malhotra, IAS 2 September 1982 25 April 1984
9 P. G. Gavai, IAS 25 April 1984 Nov 1984
10 Mohan M.K. Wali, IAS Nov 1984 Nov 1985
11 AVM H. L. Kapur, PVSM, AVSM Nov 1985 Aug 1988
12 Romesh Bhandari, IFS Aug 1988 Dec 1989
13 ACM Arjan Singh, DFC Dec 1989 Dec 1990
14 Markandey Singh, IPS Dec 1990 4 May 1992
15 Prasannabhai Karunashankar Dave, IAS 4 May 1992 4 January 1997
16 Tejendra Khanna, IAS 4 January 1997 20 April 1998
17 Vijai Kapoor, IAS 20 April 1998 9 June 2004
18 Banwari Lal Joshi, IPS 9 June 2004 9 April 2007
19 Tejendra Khanna, IAS 9 April 2007 9 July 2013
20 Najeeb Jung, IAS 9 July 2013 22 December 2016
21 Anil Baijal, IAS 31 December 2016 18 May 2022


━ related

Government Establishes the Accelerated Corporate Exit Processing Centre to Streamline Business Dissolution Procedures

Aiming to simplify and expedite the process of corporate dissolution, the government introduces the Accelerated Corporate Exit Processing Centre. Learn about the significance of this initiative and how it will benefit businesses and the overall economy.

Kiren Rijiju Steps Down as Union Law Minister, Marking the End of an Era

In a surprising development, Kiren Rijiju has announced his resignation as the Union Law Minister, bringing an end to his impactful tenure. Explore the achievements and highlights of Rijiju's time in office and the potential implications of his departure.

Hinduja Group Chairman SP Hinduja Passes Away, Leaving Behind a Legacy of Business Excellence

The business world mourns the loss of SP Hinduja, the Chairman of the Hinduja Group, who has passed away. Explore the remarkable life and contributions of this visionary leader and the lasting impact he leaves behind.

Nepali Climber Sets New Record with 27th Ascent of Mount Everest

A remarkable achievement in mountaineering history as a Nepali climber conquers Mount Everest for the 27th time, establishing a new record. Learn more about this extraordinary feat and the perseverance of this seasoned mountaineer.

Global Accessibility Awareness Day 2023: Promoting Inclusion and Digital Accessibility

Global Accessibility Awareness Day (GAAD) 2023 marks a significant milestone in raising awareness about the importance of accessibility and inclusion in the digital world. Discover how this global event is making a positive impact on people's lives and promoting a more inclusive society.