Former German chancellor Angela Merkel wins Unesco Peace Prize


Former German chancellor Angela Merkel has been awarded the 2022 UNESCO Peace Prize. The honour, which is officially called Félix Houphouët-Boigny UNESCO Peace Prize, is named after the first president of Ivory Coast.

All the members of the jury were touched by her courageous decision in 2015 to welcome more than 1.2 million refugees, notably from Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan and Eritrea.

In 2015, Merkel uttered three words that would transform her into an international political icon: “Wir schaffen das!” (We can do it!). For hundreds of thousands of Syrians fleeing the civil war in their country, Merkel’s words offered hope.

The jury also awarded an honourable mention to Julienne Lusenge for her commitment to the women who were victims of sexual violence. Known for her work in North Kivu in the Democratic Republic of Congo, she denounced the use of rape as a “weapon of war” and is a defender of women’s rights.

UNESCO Peace Prize

UNESCO Peace Prize is intended to honour living individuals and active public or private bodies or institutions that have made a significant contribution to promoting, seeking, safeguarding or maintaining peace, in conformity with the Charter of the United Nations and the Constitution of UNESCO.

The Prize was established in 1989 by a resolution supported by 120 countries and adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO at its 25th session. It is in line with the philosophy of UNESCO’s founders who, in the preamble to the Organisation’s Constitution, solemnly declare that: “Since wars begin in the minds of men and women, it is in the minds of men and women that the defences of peace must be constructed.”

Nelson Mandela and Frederik W. De Klerk were the first laureates of UNESCO Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize in 1992.

━ related

Government Establishes the Accelerated Corporate Exit Processing Centre to Streamline Business Dissolution Procedures

Aiming to simplify and expedite the process of corporate dissolution, the government introduces the Accelerated Corporate Exit Processing Centre. Learn about the significance of this initiative and how it will benefit businesses and the overall economy.

Kiren Rijiju Steps Down as Union Law Minister, Marking the End of an Era

In a surprising development, Kiren Rijiju has announced his resignation as the Union Law Minister, bringing an end to his impactful tenure. Explore the achievements and highlights of Rijiju's time in office and the potential implications of his departure.

Hinduja Group Chairman SP Hinduja Passes Away, Leaving Behind a Legacy of Business Excellence

The business world mourns the loss of SP Hinduja, the Chairman of the Hinduja Group, who has passed away. Explore the remarkable life and contributions of this visionary leader and the lasting impact he leaves behind.

Nepali Climber Sets New Record with 27th Ascent of Mount Everest

A remarkable achievement in mountaineering history as a Nepali climber conquers Mount Everest for the 27th time, establishing a new record. Learn more about this extraordinary feat and the perseverance of this seasoned mountaineer.

Global Accessibility Awareness Day 2023: Promoting Inclusion and Digital Accessibility

Global Accessibility Awareness Day (GAAD) 2023 marks a significant milestone in raising awareness about the importance of accessibility and inclusion in the digital world. Discover how this global event is making a positive impact on people's lives and promoting a more inclusive society.