Government forms Committee to protect Ladakh culture, language & employment

  • The government of India has constituted 17 member, High Powered Committee (HPC) under the Chairmanship of Minister of State for Home Affairs Nityanand Rai.
  • Reason: To discuss measures to protect unique culture, language and employment of Ladakh.
  • The committee includes Ladakh LG, RK Mathur; MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal; Chairmans of Leh and Kargil Hill councils, representatives of Apex Body Leh, Kargil Democratic Alliance and nominee officials of Home ministry.