Hekani Jakhalu becomes first woman MLA in Nagaland

  • Hekani Jakhalu of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) has created history by becoming the first woman MLA of the Nagaland Assembly.
  • She was announced the winner from the Dimapur-III constituency in the 2023 Nagaland Assembly elections.
  • She defeated Azheto Zhimomi of LJP (Ram Vilas) by 1,536 votes.
  • Of 31,874 votes counted in the constituency, she received 45.16% of the votes, just ahead of the LJP (RV)’s Azheto Zhimomi who received 40.34% votes.