India won its maiden Thomas Cup Title 2022

India’s men’s badminton team won the Thomas Cup title 2022 after defeating Indonesia. World Championships medallist Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth and doubles players Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy stunned the 14-time champions with a dominant show.

India vs Indonesia Highlights, Thomas Cup 2022: India beat Indonesia 3-0 to  script historic win | Hindustan Times

About Thomas Cup

The Thomas Cup, sometimes called the World Men’s Team Championships, is an international badminton competition among teams representing member nations of the Badminton World Federation (BWF), the sport’s global governing body. The championships have been conducted every two years since the 1982, amended from being conducted every three years since the first tournament held in 1948โ€“1949.

Of the 30 Thomas Cup tournaments held since 1948โ€“1949, only six countries have won the title. Indonesia is the most successful team, having won 14 times. China, won 10 titles, while Malaysia has won 5 titles.

India is the current champion, having won its first title after beating title holders Indonesia 3-0 in the 2022 edition.

The Thomas Cup competition was the idea of Sir George Alan Thomas, a highly successful English badminton player of the early 1900s, who was inspired by tennis’s Davis Cup, and football’s (soccer’s) World Cup first held in 1930.