Indian Grandmaster Aravindh Chithambaram wins Chess tournament in Spain

Indian Grandmaster Aravindh Chithambaram emerged winner in the 41st Villa De Benasque International Chess Open after edging Armenia’s Robert Hovhannisyan and compatriot Raunak Sadhwani on the basis of tie-break score. Sadhwani finished in third place behind the Armenian.

The Spanish Chess Championship is contested annually under the auspices of the Federación Española de Ajedrez (FEDA), the governing body of chess in Spain, to determine the nation’s chess champion. The first official championship was in 1928.