Naveen Patnaik Becomes Second Longest-Serving Chief Minister in India

With unwavering dedication and exemplary leadership, Naveen Patnaik, the Chief Minister of Odisha, has etched his name in the annals of India’s political history. On a momentous Sunday, he achieved a remarkable milestone, becoming the second longest-serving chief minister in the country. Surpassing the record of former West Bengal chief minister Jyoti Basu, Patnaik’s tenure of 23 years and 139 days stands as a testament to his steadfast commitment to public service and transformative governance.

Assuming office on March 5, 2000, Patnaik has held the reins of Odisha with remarkable poise and vision, steering the state on a trajectory of progress and development. His five consecutive terms as the Chief Minister have garnered him widespread recognition and admiration, solidifying his position as a stalwart leader.

Currently, Patnaik stands second only to Pawan Kumar Chamling of Sikkim, who holds the enviable record of helming a state for the longest time, spanning 24 years and 166 days. Nevertheless, Patnaik’s legacy continues to thrive as he remains steadfast in his commitment to the people of Odisha.

A seasoned politician and a dynamic leader, Naveen Patnaik is not only known for his role in state governance but also for his national contributions. Prior to his illustrious tenure as Chief Minister, he served as the Union Minister of Steel and Mines from 1998 to 2000, bringing his expertise to the national stage. Additionally, he served as a member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) from Aska from 1997 to 2000.

As the 76-year-old leader continues to steer Odisha towards progress, his vision and leadership hold the promise of scripting an even greater legacy. If the Biju Janata Dal returns to power in the upcoming assembly polls, Patnaik will inch closer to becoming the longest-serving chief minister in the country, a testament to the people’s unwavering trust in his ability to lead and shape the state’s future.