NSA Ajit Doval, late CDS Gen Rawat to be awarded with Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman

To honour people with distinguished achievements, Uttrakhand government announced to felicitate NSA Ajit Doval, lyricist Prasoon Joshi, and three more with this year’s Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman.

The awardees will be felicitated with the Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman on 9 November. Apart from Ajit Doval, former Chief of Defence Staff Gen Bipin Rawat, the late poet and author Girish Chandra Tiwari and late journalist Viren Dangwal will be awarded posthumously with the award.

Uttarakhand government awards people with Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman every year to cherish their achievements in their respective fields. Notably, Prasoon Joshi is the chairman of the Central Board of Film Certification.

The award began in 2021, is one of the two highest state-level civilian awards. Another one is Uttarakhand Ratna.

The first edition of the award was given to former CM ND Tiwari, environmentalist Anil Prakash Joshi, author Ruskin Bond, mountaineer Bachendri Pal and folk singer Narendra Singh Negi.