PM launches Aspirational Block Programme

  • PM Modi has launched the Aspirational Block Programme at the second National Conference of Chief Secretaries in New Delhi.
  • Aim: To develop backward districts
  • This programme is on the lines of the Aspirational District Programme (launched in 2018).
  • The programme will cover 500 districts across 31 states and Union Territories initially.
  • Over half of these blocks are in 6 states—UP (68 blocks), Bihar (61), MP (42), Jharkhand (34), Odisha (29) and WB (29).