Rajiv Kumar appointed as 25th Chief Election Commissioner of India


Former Finance Secretary Rajiv Kumar on May 15 assumed charge as Chief Election Commissioner (CEC). He succeeded Sushil Chandra who retired on May 14.

Mr. Kumar, who had been an Election Commissioner since September 1, 2020, would likely oversee the 2024 Lok Sabha elections as his term is until 2025.

A retired IAS officer of the 1984 batch, Mr. Kumar held the post of chairman of the Public Services Enterprises Selection Board before being named as the EC. He had retired from the IAS in February 2020 as the Union Finance Secretary.

The Election Commission of India

The Election Commission of India is a constitutional body under the ownership of Ministry of Law and Justice, Government of India. It was established by the Constitution of India to conduct and regulate elections in the country. It was formed on 25 January 1950 and is headquartered at New Delhi.

The body administers elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies, State Legislative Councils and the offices of the President and Vice President of the country.

The Election Commission operates under the authority of Constitution per Article 324 and subsequently enacted Representation of the People Act 1951.

━ related

Cyclone Biparjoy: India Issues Alerts as Severe Weather System Approaches

India has issued alerts and initiated precautionary measures as Cyclone Biparjoy intensifies and approaches coastal areas. With the potential for strong winds, heavy rainfall, and storm surges, authorities are taking proactive steps to ensure the safety of residents, evacuate vulnerable areas, and provide necessary support and resources to mitigate the impact of the cyclone.

International Day for the Fight Against Illegal, Unreported, and Unregulated Fishing 2023: A Global Call to Preserve Oceanic Resources

The International Day for the Fight Against Illegal, Unreported, and Unregulated (IUU) Fishing is observed on [date] each year to raise awareness about the detrimental impact of IUU fishing practices on marine ecosystems and coastal communities. This day serves as a reminder of the urgent need for international collaboration and stringent measures to combat IUU fishing and ensure sustainable management of our oceans.

Dennis Francis Elected 78th UNGA President: A New Leadership for Global Diplomacy

Dennis Francis, a respected diplomat, has been elected as the 78th President of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA). His appointment brings fresh leadership and a commitment to fostering international cooperation, addressing global challenges, and advancing the agenda of peace, development, and human rights.

Regulator Directs SBI Life to Take Over Sahara Life Policies: Ensuring Stability and Protection for Policyholders

In a regulatory move, SBI Life Insurance has been directed to take over the policies of Sahara Life Insurance, ensuring continuity and safeguarding the interests of policyholders. This directive by the regulatory authority aims to maintain stability in the insurance sector and provide assurance to customers amidst the transition.

UAE to Host World’s Largest Conservation Conference in 2025: A Global Initiative for Environmental Preservation

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has been selected as the host country for the world's largest conservation conference in 2025. This prestigious event will bring together experts, policymakers, and environmental enthusiasts from around the globe to address pressing conservation challenges, exchange knowledge, and forge new partnerships in the pursuit of a sustainable future.