Senior IPS Officer Manoj Yadava Named Director General of Railway Protection Force

Manoj Yadava, a distinguished Indian Police Service (IPS) officer from the Haryana cadre, has been assigned the prestigious role of Director General of the Railway Protection Force (RPF). The Personnel Ministry issued an official order announcing Yadava’s appointment to succeed Sanjay Chander, who is due to retire on July 31. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has wholeheartedly endorsed Yadava’s appointment as DG, RPF, with a tenure lasting until his retirement on July 31, 2025.

Yadava’s illustrious career in the IPS dates back to the 1988 batch, and he has previously served as the Director General of Police (DGP) for Haryana from 2019 to 2021. Presently, he is on central deputation serving as DG (investigations) at the esteemed National Human Rights Commission.

The Railway Protection Force (RPF) stands as an armed force under the administrative and operational control of the Indian Railways, operating within the Ministry of Railways, Government of India. Established by the Railway Protection Force Act, 1957, and enacted by the Indian Parliament, its primary objective is to safeguard railway property and passenger areas. The RPF possesses the authority to conduct searches, make arrests, conduct inquiries, and prosecute offenses committed under the Railway Property (Unlawful Possession) Act of 1966, as well as The Railways Act, 1989 (amended as necessary). However, the authority to make arrests under other penal laws falls under the jurisdiction of the Government Railway Police (GRP) or the state police.

Members of the Indian Railway Protection Force Service (IRPFS) constitute all RPF officers, and they are recruited through the UPSC Civil Services Examination, assuming the role of Group-A Central Civil Servants. Notably, the position of Director General of RPF is typically held by a senior Indian Police Service (IPS) officer on deputation. Various exams held by the Ministry of Railways, Government of India, facilitate the recruitment process for other roles, including sub-inspectors and constables.

In a separate order, Shafi Ahsan Rizvi, the Special Director in the Intelligence Bureau (IB), has been designated as the Advisor of the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA). Additionally, Rajesh Pradhan, a 2003 batch IPS officer from the Maharashtra cadre and currently serving as Deputy Inspector General in the CBI, has been granted the role of Joint Director in the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) on deputation until January 30, 2027, following the approval of the ACC.