Sikkim to host Ranji Trophy matches for the first time

Sikkim will host Ranji trophy matches for the first time in December. The state will welcome three northeast teams: Mizoram, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh, at the Mining Cricket Ground near Rangpo.

Sikkim has previously hosted first-class matches at adopted home venues in other states, while the state team has also played Ranji matches at neutral venues.

Ranji Trophy

The Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between multiple teams representing regional and state cricket associations. The competition currently consists of 38 teams, with all 28 states in India and four of the eight union territories having at least one representation. The competition is named after the first Indian cricketer who played international cricket, Ranjitsinhji, who was also known as ‘Ranji’.

  • Administrator: BCCI
  • Format: First-class cricket
  • First edition: 1934–35
  • Current champion: Madhya Pradesh
  • Most successful: Mumbai (41 titles)