Sweden decides to formally join NATO

Sweden has decided to formally apply to join the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), following Finland. Both Finland and Sweden have ended their long-held positions of neutrality in the wake of the Russia’s military operation in Ukraine.

Since NATO was founded in 1949, the alliance has expanded to include 30 member countries, including three former Soviet republics, and the inclusion of Sweden and Finland would further expand the alliance’s influence in the Arctic and in the areas around Russia.

About Sweden

Sweden is a Nordic country in Northern Europe. It borders Norway to the west and north, Finland to the east, and is connected to Denmark in the southwest by a bridge-tunnel across the Öresund. The name Sweden was derived from the Svear, or Suiones, a people mentioned as early as 98 CE by the Roman author Tacitus. The country’s ancient name was Svithiod. Stockholm has been the permanent capital since 1523.

  • Capital: Stockholm
  • Dialing code: +46
  • Currency: Swedish krona
  • Population: 1.04 crores (2020)


About NATO

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, also called the North Atlantic Alliance, is an intergovernmental military alliance between 30 member states – 28 European states, the United States, and Canada.

  • Founded: 4 April 1949, Washington, D.C., United States
  • Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium

Established in the aftermath of World War II on the insistence of the Truman administration in the United States, the organization implements the North Atlantic Treaty, which was signed on 4 April 1949. NATO’s fundamental goal is to safeguard the Allies’ freedom and security by political and military means.