Union Minister Shri Anurag Thakur Confers 8th and 9th Community Radio Awards

Algeria Applies for BRICS Membership and Seeks Economic Ties with China
Algeria Applies for BRICS Membership and Seeks Economic Ties with China

In a glorious ceremony that recognized the exceptional efforts of Community Radio Stations in India, Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Shri Anurag Thakur, presented the highly esteemed 8th and 9th National Community Radio Awards. The event took place amidst much acclaim at the Indian Institute of Mass Communication in New Delhi.

The awards highlighted the significant impact of Community Radio Stations in connecting with local communities, disseminating vital information, and promoting cultural heritage. These stations have played a crucial role in empowering citizens, aligning perfectly with Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi’s vision of Jan Bhagidari se Jan Andolan, which emphasizes citizen participation and collaboration in nation-building.

The thematic awards recognized outstanding programs and initiatives by various Community Radio Stations from different regions:

Thematic Awards:

  1. First Prize: Radio Mind Tree, Ambala, Haryana – Program: Hope Jeene Ki Raah
  2. Second Prize: Radio Hirakhand, Sambalpur, Odisha – Program: Adhar O Poshan Bigyan
  3. Third Prize: Green Radio, Sabour, Bihar – Program: Poshan Shrinkhla

Most Innovative Community Engagement Awards:

  1. First Prize: Radio SD, Muzaffarnagar, Uttar Pradesh – Program: Hizra in Between
  2. Second Prize: Kabir Radio, Sant Kabir Nagar, Uttar Pradesh – Program: Selfie Le Le Re
  3. Third Prize: Radio Mind Tree, Ambala, Haryana – Program: Book Bugs

Promoting Local Culture Awards:

  1. First Prize: Voice of SOA, Cuttack, Odisha – Program: Asmita
  2. Second Prize: Friends FM, Tripura, Agartala – Program: Revived a Dying Art: MASK & POT
  3. Third Prize: Pantnagar Janvani, Pantnagar, Uttarakhand – Program: Dadi Maa Ka Batua

Sustainability Modern Awards:

  1. First Prize: Radio Hirakhand, Sambalpur, Odisha
  2. Second Prize: Vayalaga Vanoli, Madurai, Tamil Nadu
  3. Third Prize: VAGAD Radio “90.8”, Banswara, Rajasthan

During the ceremony, Shri Anurag Thakur expressed his heartfelt appreciation to all Community Radio Stations for their remarkable contributions in keeping listeners informed, promoting local art and culture, and engaging communities on various pressing issues. He commended their pivotal role in disseminating information during calamities, thereby enhancing disaster preparedness and response in remote regions.

The Union Minister emphasized that Community Radio Stations are an essential bridge between the government and citizens, fostering a sense of belonging and empowerment. He reiterated the government’s commitment to fulfilling Prime Minister Modi’s vision of having a Community Radio Station in each district of India.

Apurva Chandra, Secretary, also addressed the gathering, acknowledging the need for a platform to share the experiences and best practices of Community Radio Stations. He applauded their extraordinary efforts during the Covid-19 pandemic, where these stations played a critical role in disseminating reliable information and addressing community concerns.

The event not only celebrated the achievements of Community Radio Stations but also served as a testament to the government’s dedication to promoting local voices and citizen participation. The future of Community Radio in India looks promising as the government continues to take steps to streamline the licensing process and expand radio services across the nation.