West Bengal to carve out seven new districts

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee announced that the state will soon carve out seven new districts. With this the total number of districts in West Bengal will be 30.

The seven new districts will be Sunderban, Ichhemati, Ranaghat, Bishnupur, Jangipur, and Behrampur. One more district will be named from the Basirhat region.

At present, Sundarban falls under South 24 paraganas, whereas Icchemati and Basirhat falls under North 24 parganas. Ranaghat under Nadia and Jangipur and Behrampur from Murshidabad district. Bankura will be divided to form the Bishnupur district.