Complete List of Presidents of India: From Rajendra Prasad to Ram Nath Kovind

The position of the President of India holds immense significance in the country’s political landscape. Since the inception of the Indian Republic in 1950, the nation has seen a distinguished line of leaders who have held the esteemed office of the President. Let’s take a closer look at the complete list of Presidents of India, highlighting their notable contributions and legacies.

  1. Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962): Rajendra Prasad, a freedom fighter and one of the prominent leaders of the Indian National Congress, became the first President of India. He served two consecutive terms and played a pivotal role in establishing the constitutional framework of the nation.
  2. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1962-1967): Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, an eminent philosopher, teacher, and statesman, served as the second President of India. He was a staunch advocate for education and played a key role in shaping India’s educational policies.
  3. Zakir Husain (1967-1969): Zakir Husain, an educator and politician, became the third President of India. He was known for his contributions to the field of education and was instrumental in establishing the Zakir Husain College in Delhi.
  4. Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1969-1974): Varahagiri Venkata Giri, a trade unionist and politician, served as the fourth President of India. He took office under unique circumstances after the sudden demise of President Zakir Husain and later contested in the presidential election in 1969.
  5. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974-1977): Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, a lawyer and diplomat, assumed the office of the President as the fifth President of India. His tenure was marked by political turmoil, including the declaration of a state of emergency in 1975.
  6. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1977-1982): Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, a seasoned politician and freedom fighter, served as the sixth President of India. He was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh and played an instrumental role in the formation of the Janata Party.
  7. Giani Zail Singh (1982-1987): Giani Zail Singh, a politician and freedom fighter, became the seventh President of India. During his tenure, he focused on promoting communal harmony and strengthening India’s foreign relations.
  8. Ramaswamy Venkataraman (1987-1992): Ramaswamy Venkataraman, a lawyer and politician, assumed office as the eighth President of India. He played a significant role in the economic reforms of the country and was also a champion of women’s rights.
  9. Shankar Dayal Sharma (1992-1997): Shankar Dayal Sharma, a scholar and politician, served as the ninth President of India. He was an advocate for social justice and inclusive governance, and his tenure witnessed important constitutional amendments.
  10. Kocheril Raman Narayanan (1997-2002): Kocheril Raman Narayanan, a diplomat and politician, became the tenth President of India. He was the first Dalit (formerly known as “untouchable”) to hold the office and focused on promoting social equality and inclusivity.
  11. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (2002-2007): A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, a renowned scientist and visionary, served as the eleventh President of India. He was popularly known as the “People’s President” and played a significant role in promoting scientific research and youth empowerment.
  12. Pratibha Patil (2007-2012): Pratibha Patil, a lawyer and politician, assumed office as the twelfth President of India. She was the first woman to hold the position and focused on women’s empowerment, education, and healthcare during her tenure.
  13. Pranab Mukherjee (2012-2017): Pranab Mukherjee, a seasoned politician and statesman, became the thirteenth President of India. He had a long and illustrious political career and played a crucial role in shaping India’s economic policies and foreign relations.
  14. Ram Nath Kovind (2017-present): Ram Nath Kovind, a lawyer and politician, is the incumbent President of India. As the fourteenth President, he has emphasized the importance of inclusivity, education, and the well-being of marginalized communities.

The Presidents of India have played a significant role in shaping the nation and upholding its democratic values. Each leader has left behind a unique legacy, contributing to the growth and progress of the country.