Lok Sabha Accepts No-Confidence Motion Against Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Government Related to Manipur Issue

A significant political showdown unfolded in the Lok Sabha as both the Congress party and K Chandrashekar Rao’s Bharat Rashtra Samithi (TRS) separately submitted notices for a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government. The motion stemmed from concerns related to the Manipur issue and its implications on the nation’s governance.

The acceptance of the no-confidence motion by the Speaker has triggered strong demands from the Opposition for Prime Minister Modi’s presence and accountability during the ensuing debate. This parliamentary move reflects the seriousness of the matter and underscores the Opposition’s intent to challenge the government’s policies and actions pertaining to Manipur.

The no-confidence motion holds significant procedural weight in the Lok Sabha. Any member of the House can propose such a motion, but it can only be moved if the member believes that the current government lacks a majority. Once accepted, the ruling party must prove its majority in the House, leading to a crucial floor test.

Considering the limited numerical strength of the opposition parties, securing a favorable outcome for the no-confidence motion appears challenging. Additionally, the debate time allotted to each party in the Lok Sabha is determined according to its representation, possibly limiting substantial debate time for the opposition due to their smaller numbers.

The process of initiating a no-confidence motion requires a written notice to be submitted by a member before 10 am, and the motion must be supported and accepted by at least 50 members. Once accepted, the debate must be scheduled within 10 days, emphasizing the urgency and importance of addressing the concerns raised in the motion.

Historically, the Lok Sabha has witnessed 27 no-confidence motions since India’s independence. Notably, Prime Minister Indira Gandhi faced the highest number of such motions, successfully surviving all 15 floor tests during her tenure.

While most no-confidence motions have been defeated in the Lok Sabha, there were two exceptions in the past. In 1979, Prime Minister Morarji Desai had to resign after a successful no-confidence motion, and in 1999, the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led government lost power due to another no-confidence motion.

The latest no-confidence motion took place in 2018 when the Narendra Modi-led NDA government survived with 195 votes in their favor, while 135 members supported the motion, and 330 MPs rejected it, reaffirming the government’s mandate to continue in power. As the Manipur-related no-confidence motion takes center stage, the nation awaits the outcome of this crucial parliamentary exercise, which holds the potential to shape the course of the country’s political landscape.